San Franciscans are eagerly awaiting the arrival of several Presidio projects this year, the first of which to arrive is Battery Bluff. Six acres of restored park land were unveiled on April 23, showcasing four historic military batteries which haven’t been seen by the public since 1936. The opening of Battery Bluff precedes that of the Presidio’s 14-acre Tunnel Tops park project, which will be unveiled in July.
The Slaughter, Baldwin, Sherwood and Blaney gun batteries were built between 1899 and 1902, and were cut off from public access in 1936 due to the construction of Doyle Drive. They were part of the US Army’s coastal defense system, which included multiple batteries around the Golden Gate. These 4 have now been cleaned and repaired, and are accessible to visitors.
The public can explore the four historic batteries, sweeping gardens, picnic tables, overlooks and viewpoints, and a multi-use trail across 6 acres of land.
Battery Bluff is part of the Presidio’s multi-agency, 50-acre restoration effort which is 30 years in the making. The project will culminate in the reveal of Presidio Tunnel Tops, a 14-acre waterfront park with more Bay overlooks, trails, community gathering spaces, a grassy amphitheater, children’s activities, and nearly 200,000 native and drought-tolerant plants. It came about following the installation of the Presidio Parkway Tunnels, which replaced an above-ground highway to the Golden Gate Bridge and freed up massive stretches of land on the waterfront.
“People come from all over the world to experience the best that San Francisco has to offer. They come for the sheer beauty, access to green and open space, and to visit some of the best urban parks in the country. Now, everyone will have more to look forward to and greater access to this national park with the historic renovation of Battery Bluff,” said Mayor London Breed.
Battery Bluff is about a 10-minute walk along Lincoln Boulevard starting at the Presidio Transit Center.
Featured image: Courtesy of the Presidio